Report No. 257/2023
Report of the Finance Strategic Policy
Committee



Breviate of the Finance Strategic Policy Committee Meeting held on 18th January 2024

1. Draft Minutes of the Finance SPC meeting held on 16th November, 2023. Adopted.

2. Matters Arising.

None

3. Correspondence.

Noted.

Ongoing correspondence with Government through the term of this Committee on Visitor Accommodation Charge and Rent Arrears proving very unsatisfactory.

Agreed to: Forward a correspondence to Government if a policy decision is made to introduce a Visitor Accommodation Charge.

4 Report 03 - 2024 Housing Rent Collection and Arrears Recovery.

Presentation given by Tara Robertson and Clive Ahearn (Housing and Community Department) - discussed and noted.

5. Report 02 - 2024 Update on Community Wealth Building Phase 2.

Report discussed and noted.

6. Report 01 - 2024 Report on Crowdfund Dublin City Pledges.

Report discussed and noted.

Agreed to: Approve a DCC pledge to the projects listed from the Crowdfund Dublin City fund and for the report to be submitted to the February Council Meeting for approval of the full Council.

4. Audit Committee Minutes of meeting of 19th October, 2023. Noted.

Agreed to: Request the administrator of the Audit Report to circulate a description of the various abbreviations used in the minutes to this Committee to enable members to better understand the report.

4. AOB

None

Next meeting will be Thursday, 21st March, 2024 at 2.30pm (Hybrid).

Councillor Séamas McGrattan

Chairperson 18th January 2024

Members Present

Cllr Séamas McGrattan

Cllr Dermot Lacey

Cllr Mary Callaghan

Cllr Anthony Connaghan

Cllr Fiona Connolly

Cllr Christy Burke

Cllr Paddy McCartan

Cllr Darcy Lonergan

Cllr Daryl Barron

Cllr Niall Ring

Dr. Caroline McMullan, DCU

Aidan Sweeney, IBEC

Philip O'Callaghan, PPN

Eric Fleming, ICTU

Alan Robinson, Docklands Business Forum

Officials

Kathy Quinn, Head of Finance Mary Curran, Finance Secretariat Sophie Kelly, Finance Secretariat Zoe Flood, Finance Secretariat Tara Robertson, Housing and Community Clive Ahern, Housing and Community Michelle Robinson, Housing and Community

Apologies

Lord Mayor Daithí de Róiste Sohini De